Wonderful Life (Black song)

“Wonderful Life” is a song by the English singer Black from his 1986 album of the same name. Written by Black, the song was released twice as a single and was successful the second time, becoming a top ten hit in Switzerland, Germany, the UK, France, Austria, the Netherlands and Italy. The song has been described as a “seductive, bittersweet ballad”.[1] The Daily Telegraph said, “Its oddly uplifting lyrics … combined with Black’s melancholy croon created, as one critic observed, ‘luxuriantly melodic pop that sounds something like a male version of Sade’.”[2]

Whenever You’re Near Me

“Whenever You’re Near Me” was the second single from Ace of Base’s third American record, Cruel Summer. The original version of the song was called “Life Is a Flower” and was a huge hit in Europe and Japan. The lyrics were rewritten by song composer Mike Chapman, and the song was released to radio stations in North and South America on October 6, 1998.

Wheel of Fortune (Ace of Base song)

“Wheel of Fortune” is a song by Swedish pop group Ace of Base, and also their debut single. It was first released in the Nordics in April 1992 through Danish Mega Records as the first single from the album Happy Nation. It was re-released worldwide in April 1993 after the success of “All That She Wants”.

1992 version – The original version’s music video was directed by Viking Nielson featuring all four original members.

2009 version – The 2009 re-recording was the first and only single released by the band as a trio. For this version, the label decided not to shoot a video for the song. However, a promo video was published on 21 October 2008 on the band’s official website. Similar to their 1998 single “Always Have Always Will”, the video completely consists of live footage from their Redefined tour and video footage from a photoshoot. The edit used in the video is a combination of the radio and album versions, lasting at 3:15 minutes.[1]

Waiting for Magic

“Waiting for Magic” is a song recorded by Swedish pop group Ace of Base from their debut album, Happy Nation. Released as the fourth single from the album, a remix of the song reached the top 10 in Sweden and Denmark. The original version of the song appears only on the standard European version of Happy Nation. The song is replaced with its remix on the U.S. Version of Happy Nation (which, despite its name, was released exclusively in Europe) and The Sign, a version of Happy Nation released in North America and Japan.
Snow White is used as an allegory in this song for waiting for “the prince” to come (“Kiss me baby, I am Snow White sleeping in my coffin waiting for you”).

Unspeakable (song)

“Unspeakable” is a single from Ace of Base’s 2002 album Da Capo.

The single peaked at number 45 in Sweden and 97 in Germany.

A music video was produced to promote the single. The video was directed by Daniel Borjesson. This was the last Ace of Base video to receive participation from Malin.

Release Dates
Scandinavia, December 2002 (LP Version)
Germany, 14 April 2003 (LP Version)
US, iTunes 2007 (download only)

Travel to Romantis

“Travel to Romantis” was the third single from Flowers, an album by Swedish pop band Ace of Base. The song was released on 16 November 1998 in Germany and Scandinavia and followed the singles “Life Is a Flower” and “Cruel Summer”.

A music video was produced to promote the single. The video was directed by Andy Neumann. Linn Berggren appeared in the video, however only for a few seconds.

The Sign (song)

“The Sign” is a song by the Swedish band Ace of Base, which was released on 29 October 1993 in Europe. The song was an international hit, reaching number two in the United Kingdom and spending six non-consecutive weeks as number one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in the United States. It appeared on the band’s album Happy Nation (titled The Sign in North America).

The song was the No. 1 song of 1994 according to Billboard magazine’s year-end charts. The song was ranked at number 60 on The Billboard Hot 100 All-Time Top Songs for the first 50 years of the Hot 100 chart[1] and received a nomination for Best Pop Vocal Performance By a Group or Duo at the 1995 Grammy Awards.[2]

The song was heavily featured in the fifth season finale of American Dad!, “Great Space Roaster”. The song has also been covered in the TV series Full House, in which fictional band “Girl Talk”, led by character Stephanie Tanner, mess up the song during the performance. The song is also played in the South Park episode “Prehistoric Ice Man,” the 2012 comedy Pitch Perfect and in the pilot of Hindsight.

The Juvenile

The Juvenile” is a song by Swedish pop band Ace of Base.

It was released as the second single from their album Da Capo in Germany released in December 2002. It was originally written in 1995, as the proposed theme song to the 1995 James Bond film GoldenEye, but Arista Records pulled the band out of the project. The song was then re-written as The Juvenile and still released as a single.[1]

The chorus of the song is very similar to the original version, just with a different line “the juvenile” instead of “the goldeneye”

Never Gonna Say I’m Sorry

“Never Gonna Say I’m Sorry” is a song by Swedish band Ace of Base, released as a single in March 1996. It was the third single released from the band’s album The Bridge.

The song was written by band member Jonas Berggren, who was hoping to reproduce the flavour of his earlier hit “All That She Wants”. Jonas specifically mentions the similarities between the two songs in the liner notes of the booklet for The Bridge album: “We decided early on to do an “All That She Wants” arrangement and drums because it’s always fun to have something old on a new record.”[1]

Lucky Love

“Lucky Love” is a song recorded by Swedish group Ace of Base from their album The Bridge. It became their fifth worldwide single, and was the first single from The Bridge to be released in Europe; the acoustic version of the song was the second single in the United States and Canada. “Lucky Love” also became their first number-one in Sweden.

The first, released in Europe, directed by Rocky Schenck and featuring the original version of the song, focuses on a middle-aged woman reuniting with the boyfriend she had as a teenager. The band is seen around the actors in the video and also though footage shot by the band themselves using a handheld video camera. An alternate edit of this version featuring the acoustic version of the song was featured on the Greatest Hits, Classic Remixes and Music Videos DVD.

Scroll To Top