The Frog Prince (song)

“The Frog Prince” is a song performed and composed by English alternative rock band Keane, released as the closing track on their second album, Under the Iron Sea. The song was composed in 2004 and first mentioned by Tim Rice-Oxley on the Strangers DVD. A demo version also features Rice-Oxley singing on the lead vocals.

Rice-Oxley explains the song on the band’s 6th podcast:

(…)It was inspired by a conversation that Tom (Chaplin) and I were having in a slightly drunken state in a hotel in Toronto, and we were talking about someone in another band who we felt was a really talented songwriter and really intelligent and talented person, but we felt he was busy bad-mouthing us and every other band that was around it seemed. It was very frustrating to see him go from a cool great songwriter in a small indie band, to suddenly becoming this person who’s playing the part of the arrogant rock star(…)
It has been suggested that the person described above is Razorlight’s frontman, Johnny Borrell.

Somewhere Only We Know

“Somewhere Only We Know” is a song performed and composed by English alternative rock band Keane, officially released as their third commercial single, and appearing as the opening track of their debut studio album, Hopes and Fears (2004) as the first single. The song was Keane’s first major commercial release, becoming one of the biggest hits of 2004 worldwide and peaking on the UK Singles Chart at number three during its first week of sale. It was also Keane’s best-selling single until “Is It Any Wonder?” in 2006.

In 2013, the song was covered by Lily Allen for a John Lewis Christmas advert. Her version surpassed the success of the original in the UK, topping the UK Singles Chart and selling over 600,000 copies.

Wolf at the Door

“Wolf at the Door” is a song performed and composed by English alternative rock band Keane and was the second single they released, originally intended only as a promo item with only fifty copies made, becoming the rarest Keane item in existence.

Recording started on 28 October 2000 and finished in May 2001 even though the record was originally planned to be released before 2001.[2] The CD single was released by the band’s own record label, Zoomorphic, in June 2001 and was sold at the pubs where Keane used to play. All fifty copies were handmade and recorded on CD-Rs.

Because of its limited production it is one of the most desired collectors’ items amongst Keane fans, and has been known to sell for around £1000 on eBay.[3] Its status as a rarity is such that, allegedly, no member of the band is in possession of a copy.[4]

The single features a re-recording of their previous single “Call Me What You Like”, as well as an early version of “She Has No Time”, which later would appear on Hopes and Fears, the band’s debut album.

Shortly after this record was released, guitarist Dominic Scott left the band, and was Keane’s last release with a guitar as part of their instrumentation until the 2007 cover b-side “She Sells Sanctuary”.

Perfect Symmetry (song)

“Perfect Symmetry” is a song by English rock band Keane. It was released on 29 December 2008 as the third single and is the title track from their third album of the same name.[1] The song has been remixed by American electronic rock band Innerpartysystem and is available on their remix Myspace page.

The radio edit version of the 7″ single rearranges the song somewhat, the second verse being taken from the original first verse, and the original second verse being removed completely. It also cuts out the introduction at the beginning.

Higher Than the Sun (Keane song)

“Higher Than the Sun” is a song by English alternative rock band Keane, released on 28 September 2013 as the first single from their first compilation album, The Best of Keane. The song was recorded during the recording sessions for the band’s fourth studio album, Strangeland, which was released in May 2012.

Keane announced the release of the single on their official website on 23 September 2013.[1] On 27 September, the song made its radio debut on Chris Evans’ BBC Radio 2 morning show, and was released digitally the next day.[2]

Is It Any Wonder?

“Is It Any Wonder?” is a song performed and composed by English alternative rock band Keane, released as the second single from their second studio album, Under the Iron Sea. The song is also the first Keane single to be sold in Mexico and other Latin American countries.

The single was released to the iTunes Store on 16 May and to shops on 29 May 2006, and debuted at #15 in the UK Singles Chart on 28 May based on download sales alone but reached #3 with physical sales on 4 June.[1] The song was officially premiered on 17 April on Jo Whiley’s BBC Radio 1 show. Soon after this, it was leaked onto the Internet.

The song was featured on the UK compilation Now That’s What I Call Music! 64 and in the video games Madden NFL 07[2] and Dance Dance Revolution Universe 2. The song was nominated for the Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocal for the 2007 Grammy Awards.

Everybody’s Changing

“Everybody’s Changing” is a song performed by English alternative rock band Keane. It was released as the second single from their debut studio album, Hopes and Fears (2004). After a single release on Fierce Panda in May 2003, which peaked at number 122 in the UK Singles Chart,[1] it was re-released on Island on 3 May 2004 and reached number 4. It is also used in the TV series, In Plain Sight and can also be heard in the final moments of One Tree Hill episode “Truth Doesn’t Make A Noise” and Scrubs episode “My Day at the Races”.
In August 2006, the song was rated No. 79 from the top 100 greatest songs of all time by The Sun. That same year, English singer Lily Allen recorded a cover of the song, released on her single “Littlest Things” (a version later appeared on the 2007 compilation album, The Saturday Sessions: The Dermot O’Leary Show).

Crystal Ball (Keane song)

“Crystal Ball” is a song performed and composed by English rock band Keane, and featured on their second studio album, Under the Iron Sea. The song was released on 21 August 2006 as the third single from the United Kingdom album version (see 2006 in British music). “Crystal Ball” was also released on 18 August 2006 in the Netherlands and peaked at #20 in both the Dutch Singles Chart and the UK Singles Chart.

Nothing in My Way

“Nothing in My Way” is a song performed and composed by English alternative rock band Keane for their second studio album Under the Iron Sea (2006). The song was also released 30 October 2006 as the third commercial and fourth overall single from that album in the United Kingdom. After the French pop rock band Bubblies, the single’s release is notable as being the first ever commercial music release in USB format, a special edition limited to 1,500 copies.

“Nothing in My Way” was included as part of the FIFA 07 video game soundtrack.

Hopes and Fears

Hopes and Fears is the debut studio album by English alternative rock band Keane. It was released on 10 May 2004 in the United Kingdom and topped the UK Albums Chart upon release. It was the second best-selling British album of 2004, behind Scissor Sisters’ self-titled album, and has since been certified 9× Platinum by BPI. The album returned to the top of the charts after winning a Brit Award for Best Album in February 2005.

With more than 2.7 million copies sold in the UK, Hopes and Fears ranked the 11th-best-selling album of the 2000s in the UK.[2] In July 2011, it was ranked the 9th biggest-selling album of the 21st century in the UK.[3] Worldwide, the album had sold over 5.8 million copies as of November 2009.[4]

Scroll To Top